Tybo District

Publication Info:
Nevada Mining Districts (Compiled Reports)
The Districts Described in This Section are from the following publications:

Mining Districts of Nevada - Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology Report 47 (updated 1998); Placer Gold Deposits of Nevada - USGS Bulletin 1356 (1973)

Table of Contents

Tybo District


Other Names: Hot Creek, Keystone, Empire, Argenta, Rattlesnake Canyon, Milk Spring, Shenandoa, Tyboe

County: Nye

Discovered: 1865

Organized: 1866

Commodities: silver, lead, zinc, gold, antimony, copper, barite


The Tybo district is in the Hot Creek Range, extending from Warm Springs on the south to Hot Creek on the north. The original district was named Empire and extended from the area of Empire Canyon south to what was later the town of Tybo. Rattlesnake Canyon district was south of Empire and may have been part of the Empire district. The northern section of district, near Hot Creek, is sometimes considered to be the separate Hot Creek district. The Territorial Enterprise (1878) used Shenandoa name for the Hot Creek section.

The Argenta and Hot Creek districts were located by Lotz (1934) as being in T7-8N, R49- 50E. Mercury mines in M & M Canyon on the southwestern tip of the Hot Creek Range, west of Warm Springs, were included in the Tybo district by Kral (1951) and Kleinhampl and Ziony (1984), but are now considered to be in the separate Mercury Mountain district. The historic Milk Spring area included Mercury Mountain as well as the southern tip of the present Tybo district.


Stretch, 1867, p. 62; White, 1869, p. 73; White, 1871, p. 91; Wheeler, 1872, p. 39, map; Whitehill, 1873, p. 108; Territorial Enterprise, May 7, 1878; Angel, 1881, p. 517, 518; Hill, 1912, p. 224; Lincoln, 1923, p. 195; Stoddard, 1932, p. 72; Lotz, 1934, p. 22; Kral, 1951, p. 189; Lawrence, 1963, p. 132; Bonham, 1976; Kleinhampl and Ziony, 1984, p. 210

Page 1 of 1